Board of Directors

David Hillman, President

Dave is a longtime Iowa paddle sport enthusiast and has been growing paddling gills since 1977. He is an ACA Level 4 Whitewater Kayaking Instructor and the Iowa Games Summer Kayaking & Canoeing Venue commissioner. His paddling activities include flat water racing, whitewater kayaking and dragon boating. His paddling adventures have taken him to Australia, South America, Europe and all over the USA. Dave is also a member of the American Canoe Association and American Whitewater.

Vice President

Position is vacant.

Glenn Harman, Treasurer


Position is vacant.

Scott Thurston / TEST LLC, Software Advisor

Scott is early in his journey of whitewater activity but has found an instant home. He started with whiteware in college at Iowa State Univerisity and has since pursued the activily alongside his profession of software engineering.

Board Members

  • Lyle Danielson, Past President (2006-2014), Johnston
  • Glenn Harman, Waverly
  • Peter Komendowski, Cedar Falls
  • Brad Lunning, Mason City
  • Lynne Majetic, Manchester
  • Chuck Ungs, Manchester
  • Piper Wall, Ames
  • Scott Thurston, Des Moines

G. David Hurd, Honorary Board Member

Dave, former CEO of Principal Financial group, actively supported Iowa Whitewater Coalition, particularly in its dam safety and whitewater recreation efforts for downtown Des Moines. (Passed away on February 6, 2016 at age 86.)

Former Board Members

  • Scott Bandstra
  • Ann Conklin
  • Dave Kraemer
  • Julie Kunkle
  • Debbie Neustadt
  • John Shultz
  • Dylan Verhoef
  • John Wenck
  • Ike Willig

Former Founding Board Members

  • Ryan Hanson
  • Bruce Hinrichs
  • Nate Hoogeveen, Past President (2002-2005)
  • Gerry Rowland

IWC Lifetime Members *

  • Lyle Danielson, Johnston
  • David Hillman, Cedar Rapids
  • G. David Hurd, Des Moines
  • John Shultz, Greene
  • Piper Wall, Ames

  • * $500 Contributors